View Cart (0 items)
Water/Waste Processing e-News / Drinking Water

US Water Prize winners announced

February 26, 2013
/ Print / Reprints /
| Share More
/ Text Size+

The U.S. Water Alliance, a non-profit organization dedicated to raising awareness of water-sustainability issues, announced the winners of its 2013 U.S. Water Prize in a ceremony today in Washington, D.C.

The winners are:

• Onondaga County, N.Y., for its program to “Save the Rain” and embrace green infrastructure solutions to wet weather problems

• The Freshwater Trust for its collaborative market-based solutions to restore and protect rivers and streams

• MillerCoors for their innovative and comprehensive strategies to protect and conserve water throughout its life cycle

"Our 2013 U.S. Water Prize winners are leading the way, from East to West and all points in between, on the value of water and the power of innovating and integrating for one water sustainability,” said U.S. Water Alliance President Ben Grumbles.  “Our champions are showing how to save the rain, clean the stream, and grow with care, up and down the supply chain throughout the water cycle."

RELATED: 2012 U.S. Water Prize winners honored

The three winners will be honored on Earth Day, Monday, April 22, 2013, in Grosvenor Auditorium at National Geographic headquarters in Washington D.C. More than 300 Water leaders from the federal, state, and municipal level are anticipated to participate in the ceremony. 

The U.S. Water Prize, first launched in 2011, is organized and administered by the U.S. Water Alliance. The alliance says the prize "underscores the value of water and the need for one water integration, innovation, and collaboration among environmental, business, utility and community leaders."

You must login or register in order to post a comment.