Processing Magazine

Dow Chemical CTO wins Malcolm E. Pruitt Award for stimulating collaborative innovation

May 23, 2012

DEARBORN, Mich. — The Council for Chemical Research (CCR) honored Dr. William F. Banholzer, Ph.D., executive vice president and chief technology officer at The Dow Chemical Company, with the 2012 Malcolm E. Pruitt Award, dedicated to the recognition of individuals in the industry whose efforts demonstrate exceptional contributions to the development of chemistry-related sciences.

The recognition took place at the 33rd Annual CCR Conference in Dearborn, Mich.

According to a press release, Banholzer was recognized for his dedication to furthering collaboration between industry and universities and his persistent efforts to increase funding for research within the chemical industry.

In 2011, Dow announced an investment of $25 million over 10 years with 11 leading universities in the United States to strengthen research in traditional scientific fields important to Dow and to the nation''s future.

"Dr. Banholzer continues to establish meaningful connections between universities and chemical researchers," said C. Paul Mendez, Executive Director of CCR, a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing research in chemistry, chemical engineering and related disciplines. "His efforts are leading to important advances and will help train the next generation of innovators and solutions-providers in our country."